Site Search

2020 Awards of Excellence

Wednesday, September 16, 2020 - 10:26 AM

On Friday the 30th October, Metro North Junior Football Clubs and their volunteers will gather to commemorate the 2020 Season & the various achievements of all involved. A prestigious occasion, the 2020 WA Football Commission Awards of Excellence – Metro North offers the opportunity for the football community to come together & reflect on the season as well as celebrate the achievements of all involved.

2020 WA Football Awards of Excellence – Metro North

Friday 30th October 2020

AQWA - the Aquarium of Western Australia - 91 Southside Drive, Hillarys

6:30pm Pre-Dinner Drinks & Canapes touring AQWA's underwater tunnels before commencing the awards ceremony in the Sunset Suite

The evening includes cocktail food and platters with a three hour drinks package. A cash bar will open at the conclusion of the drinks package

Dress: Cocktail 

The 2020 Awards of will recognise award winners and finalists in the following categories:

  • Community Club Volunteer
  • NAB AFL Auskick Volunteer
  • Go for 2&5 AFL Junior Coach – Modified Football
  • Go for 2&5 AFL Junior Coach – Youth Football
  • Umpire of the Year
  • Auskick Program of the Year – Metro North (new award in 2020)
  • Junior Club of the Year – Metro North
  • Further with Football Award – Metro North (new award in 2020)

Entertainment The Silent Deeds

Hailing from Perth WA, The Silent Deeds draw on influences from a variety of musical styles including Foo Fighters, U2, Pearl Jam, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and The Beatles. The band have been an active group in the Perth scene for a few years and have released an EP 'Desert Town' and a string of singles 'Rusty Chair, Sixty Three, Here We Go, Sweet September & The Race' while pulling in crowds at various venues in Perth and around W.A. including a sold out launch show in 2018. They have been support act to the likes of US rockers Fuel and Melbourne’s own Taxiride. 


Invitations and ticket purchase options are being sent to Junior Clubs and invited guests on or before Friday 18 September.

All Junior Clubs are provided with 10 tickets to attend the event.

Clubs are encouraged to include award finalists within their ticket allocation. Additional tickets can be purchased at a subsidised rate of $80.00 (excluding GST). 

2020 Award Finalists 

The Awards of Excellence recognise and celebrate the achievements and contributions of our members throughout the season, across a wide range of categories. In what was once again a very competitive field, we are excited to announce our 2020 finalists!

Community Club Volunteer

Shane Allford - Yanchep Districts JFC

Scott Bailey - Dalkeith Nedlands JFC

Grant Landers - Wembley JFC

Ann Lord - Carine JFC

Jodi Mills - West Coast JFC

Vanessa Nastasi - Stirling JFC

Kim Rigoll - Edgewater Woodvale JFC

Bree Whyman - Balga JFC

Sharon Wood-Kenney - Ocean Ridge JFC

NAB AFL Auskick Volunteer

Chris Brown - Kingsway JFC

Rene Brown - Yanchep Districts JFC

Mel Capper - West Coast JFC

Sharee Chitty - Wanneroo JFC

Damian Lepidi - North Beach JFC

Brodie McDougall - Wembley Downs JFC

Mel Parkinson - Carine JFC

Sheldon Turner - Sorrento Duncraig JFC

Brett Von Bergheim - Whitford JFC

Go for 2&5 AFL Junior Coach – Modified Football

Jeremy Bowden - Sorrento Duncraig JFC

Chris Bower - Warwick Greenwood JFC

Jon Bowman - Wembley JFC

Glenn Briggs - Wanneroo JFC

Adam Brown - Whitford JFC

Donna Field - Brighton Seahawks JFC

Stewart Neal - Kingsley JFC

Craig Sarson - North Beach JFC

Duncan Synnot - Wembley Downs JFC

Go for 2&5 AFL Junior Coach – Youth Football

Trent Barrett - North Beach JFC

John Burton - Sorrento Duncraig JFC

Steven Chapman - Kingsley JFC

Josh Francis - Claremont JFC

Teneille Groves - Whitford JFC

Greg Hogan - Scarborough JFC

Phil Johnson - Quinns Districts JFC

Blaise Partridge - Warwick Greenwood JFC

Dean Schmidt - Edgewater Woodvale JFC


Finalists in the following awards will be announced on Wednesday 23rd September

Umpire of the Year

Auskick Program of the Year (new award in 2020)

Junior Club of the Year 

Further with Football Award (new award in 2020)


More Information

Contact Andrew Ridley


Ph: 0408 298 725